Youth are eligible for junior memberships in the state Jersey organization until they reach 21 years of age. Currently, more than 100 young people are members of the Wisconsin Junior Jersey Breeders Association.

Membership gives them opportunity to develop friendships with young people with similar interests, compete in a variety of activities and learn valuable life skills. Many pursue careers in the agriculture industry; most harbor a love of the Jersey cow and their agriculture roots in their hearts throughout their lives.

Wisconsin juniors participate in several activities during the year and have a chance to compete for awards on both state and national national levels.

In early spring, juniors gather for their annual meeting, held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Wisconsin Jersey Breeders Association. New officers are elected, a new Jersey queen and princess are crowned and several other juniors are recognized for their achievements.

In the summer, juniors compete for prizes at county fairs and parish shows. In late summer and early fall, state shows and fairs and regional and national shows are on the calendar.

Becoming a Member

Membership is available to all Jersey enthusiasts under 21 years of age for $2.50 a year. For more information, call Debbie Ashmore, Junior Advisor, at 608/375-5952 (home) or 608/485-0939 (cell). For a membership application, CLICK HERE.

A cost-sharing program is also available to help juniors attend out-of-state events. For more information, contact Secretary-Treasurer Sydney Endres at 608/333-7599 or sfendres@gmail.com. For an application,CLICK HERE.

National Level Achievements

Wisconsin juniors have represented their state well in national competitions too. Colin Wussow of Cecil placed sixth in the 2019 National Jersey Youth Achievement Contest and received the V. L. Peterson Scholarship for the 2020-2021 school year.

Five other Wisconsin juniors have topped the National Jersey Youth Achievement Contest: Kaila Wussow of Cecil (2017); Brian Barlass of Janesville (1995); Kristin Barlass-Paul of Janesville (1999); Brett Barlass of Janesville (2005); and Cassandra Krull of Lake Mills (2012).

In the 2020 Pot O'Gold Production Contest, Charlie Tauchen, Bonduel, and Ela May Hebgen, DeForest, earned cash prizes with their entries.


Colin Wussow


Allison Foster, left, was named first alternate in both the 2017 and 2018 National Jersey Queen Contests.


Austin Nauman showed Smokin Hot Lightning Strikes to Supreme Champion honors of the North American International Livestock Exposition in 2016.


India Tauchen of Bonduel won the 2015 National Jersey Youth Production Contest
with THVI Allstar Bonnie 7924 (4}.


Alleah Anderson exhibited the Supreme Champion of the 2015 North American International Livestock Exposition, Meadowridge Gentry Angie.


Sydney Endres, right, was crowned as the
2013 National Jersey Queen.


Cassy Krull, center, was crowned as the National Jersey Queen in 2011. Krull was also the winner of the 2012 National Jersey Youth Achievement Contest.


Kaila Wussow topped the 2011 Pot O'Gold Production Contest with her entry, Rocha Iatola Whistle-ET. She also won the competition in 2008 with Ahlem Jace Charm 15069-ET.

Wisconsin Junior Award Winners 2019

Junior Breeder of the Year: Colin Wussow, Cecil
Youth Achievement Awards
Intermediate Winner: Sophie Larson, Reedsburg
Intermediate Runner-up: Jarrett Foster, Portage
Junior Winner: Andrew Cornell, Richland Center
Junior Runner-up: Ava Grace Hebgen, De Forest
Patty Endres Memorial Award: Jarrett Foster
Scholarship Awards: Brittney Artac, Greenwood, David Foerster, Oostburg, Colin Wussow
Wisconsin Queen: Crystal Noble
Protein Award - Rainbow Dairy LLC Trophy: Milk-N-More KCW Del Echo (24,390M, 1,339F, 895P), Colin Wussow


2018 Wisconsin Jersey Queen Crystal Noble, left, and outgoing queen Allison Foster.